Tournament 2018: The regional semifinals begin

March 16, 2018, 11:54 AM · Thank you to everyone who has been following our 2018 Theme Park Insider Tournament, to select the world's best theme park. After 17 votes, we now have our regional semifinal bracket. Here is the schedule for the rest of the tournament:

U.S. regional park semifinal: Friday, March 16
Dollywood vs. Legoland California

Asia semifinal: Saturday, March 17
Tokyo DisneySea vs. Shanghai Disneyland

Europe semifinal: Sunday, March 18
Alton Towers vs. PortAventura

U.S. big brands semifinal: Monday, March 19
Islands of Adventure vs. Busch Gardens Williamsburg

Asia semifinal: Tuesday, March 20
Universal Studios Japan vs. Everland

Europe semifinal: Wednesday, March 21
Disneyland Paris vs. Efteling

U.S. regional park semifinal: Thursday, March 22
Cedar Point vs. Six Flags Great Adventure

U.S. big brands semifinal: Friday, March 23
Disneyland vs. Magic Kingdom

Asia final: Sunday, March 25
U.S. regional park final: Monday, March 26
Europe final: Tuesday, March 27
U.S. big brands final: Wednesday, March 28

Tournament semifinal: Asia vs. Europe - Thursday, March 29
Tournament semifinal: Best park in America - Friday, March 30

Tournament final: Monday, April 2

So let's get back to the voting, with a match-up between two favorite family theme parks.

Make your case for your favorite, in the comments.

Replies (2)

March 16, 2018 at 8:07 PM ·

The correct answer is Silver Dollar City, but since it did not make it to this round, I will take its sister park, Dollywood.

March 16, 2018 at 8:09 PM ·

I voted for Dollywood even though I've never been there because "family park" to me means, fun for the whole family.

Our kids used to love Legoland, but they have no interest in it anymore. I consider Legoland a park for younger kids (under 13) and their parents.

This article has been archived and is no longer accepting comments.

Need Discount Tickets?

  Now open, or date announced:

  Still waiting on these:

Get Our Newsletter

Read Robert's Book

Stories from a Theme Park Insider